The Finnish Line

Ken Lam and Yiorgos Vassilandonakis, Conductors

Jill Terhaar Lewis, soprano | Jennifer Luiken, alto

November 11, 2016


Simons Recital Hall, College of Charleston

Jill Terhaar Lewis - Soprano
Jennifer Luiken - Alto

Ken Lam and Yiorgos Vassilandonakis, conductors

The Finnish Line

Magnetic South, a collaborative project between the Charleston Symphony Orchestra and the College of Charleston Department of Music, presents “The Finnish Line”, an evening of music from renowned Finnish composers. The program includes Esa-Pekka Salonen’s Catch and Release, a harmonic piece composed in 2006 from material developed in the course of composing his other orchestral works. Magnus Lindberg’s Corrente, composed in 1992 as a commission from the Swedish Literary Society of Finland for its annual festival, and Grammaire des Reves (1988) by Kaija Saariaho, a Grammy award-winning operatic composer, complete the evening of contemporary music.

Esa-Pekka Salonen
Catch and Release

Magnus Lindberg

Kaija Saariaho
Grammaire des Reves