80th Anniversary Gala


Leon Fleisher, Piano
Ken Lam, Conductor

80th Anniversary Gala

Concert Recap

On September 10, 2016, the CSO celebrated its 80th birthday by presenting a special Gala performance featuring the legendary pianist, Leon Fleisher. The evening was truly magical, with performances of Ravel’s Concerto for Left Hand and the Adagio from Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos in F major, featuring pianist Mr. Fleisher's wife, Katherine Jacobson. The concert ended with a crowd-pleasing rendition of Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”.

After the performance, the CSO family continued the celebration of this milestone birthday with a fundraising dinner and auction organized by the Charleston Symphony Orchestra League, Inc. What an incredible birthday celebration and kick-off to our 2016-2017 season! Thank you to the CSOL and all who joined us for the festivities!

Maurice Ravel
Concerto for the Left Hand

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for Two Pianos in F major, K. 242
II. Adagio

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 9, “New World Symphony”